NABRC Recent History


Since it’s inception NABRC has had a strong ethic of community service and many members support the local county Amateur Emergency Radio Service (ARES). Counties supported by club members include Aiken, & Edgefield in SC and Columbia & Richland in GA. Club member Kevin Kingery, KJ4IVJ served as County Emergency Coordinator (EC) from 2009 to 2022. Current EC is member Carl Juvrud, KP2L.

In 2003 the County Council of Aiken County recognized the club ARES members with a proclamation citing “invaluable assistance” during the severe thunderstorm event of June 16 2003.

On Good Friday 2009 an EF3 tornado struck the Silver Bluff Fire Station destroying the building and all the equipment. NABRC members deployed with the Aiken County Emergency Communications trailer to provide communications.

In 2007, NABRC applied for and received the club vanity callsign K4NAB. The call serves as the callsign of a solar powered 2 meter repeater and is frequently used for the ARRL FIeld Day in June each year.

In 2013 the then president, Carl Bosard (W4IXI) and secretary Greg Godsey (K5CVD) established the current key club documents, constitution and bylaws.

The club has a long tradition of assisting young to become hams. These efforts culminated in the formation of the Schofield Middle School radio and Technology Club, N4SMS in 2009. The effort was led by Kent Hufford, KQ4KK. Other club ‘Elmers’ have included Mike Newland, NC8N; Dave Kjellquist, WB5NHL; Brian Robertson, AA4UJ; Jim Harris, KG4ZNN; and Jim Matson, KN4OQD. Schofield is one of only 2 ham radio based school clubs in South Carolina. Graduates of Schofield that have gone on to get their General license include Phil Beech, KJ4MWM; Darby Wills, KK4PEQ; and Annie Matson, KN4IVD. N4SMS is a regular participant in the bi-annual School Club Roundup contest. In many years N4SMS ranks 1st in the nation in all school categories elementary thru college. N4SMS has also achieved Worked All States (WAS) and DXCC (mixed) contacting over 100 countries.

NABRC has been an active supporter and exhibitor at the Science Education Enrichment Day (SEED) each October at USC Aiken. The NABRC exhibit, in just a few minutes, teaches the kids to send their name in Morse code. We also have a table where they can make a bracelet with color coded beads for their name in morse code. For younger children we offer QSL card coloring with cards containing zoo animals. The Aiken County Emergency Management communications trailer is on site offering the opportunity to introduce citizens to emergency resources.

In 2015, Kent Hufford, KQ4KK organized a 1-day DSTAR University event at USC Aiken. The purpose of the event was to acquaint area hams to the DSTAR mode of operation. ICOM provided door prizes for the well attend ed event.

For several years NABRC supported the Aiken Bicycle Club in its Aiken-to-Ride cycling event to benefit Special Olympics. NABRC provided communications to each rest stop along the 25-100 mile routes. Over the years members contributed directly to the health and safety of riders.

Currently, NABRC is supporting, Run United, a 1/2 marathon runing event through the streets of Aiken.

We have also provided ham radio information booths at events such as Aiken Makin and the 2016 JD Lever Fall Festival.

In 2018, we registered the special event callsign, K4L, and celebrated National Library week with HF and VHF stations operating from the meeting room of the Aiken Public Library.

NABRC has over the years made contributions of ARRL book sets to Aiken High School, South Aiken High School, Midland Valley High School, Schofield Middle School, as well as Aiken and Edgefield Public libraries.

NABRC is active in the leadership of the ARRL. Member, Dr. Jim Boehner, N2ZZ, has a long history of service. Jim served as Section Manager from 2003-2009 and Roanoke Vice Director from 2010 – 2015. In 2015, Jim became Director to fill out the term of Dennis Bodson, who stepped down. In 2015, Jim was elected Roanoke Director and served to 2018. In 2022, Jim was reelected Director and currently serves as Roanoke Director.

Jul 2022, David Kjellquist